Awards and Prizes

Established: February 1974

The Charles Howard Dudley Prize

A monetary prize, given in memory of Charles Howard Dudley, Class of 1901, is awarded annually to the graduating student, selected by the faculty of the Department of Religion, who has demonstrated excellence in the study of that field.

Previous award winners

Established: June 2004

The Dickinson Senior Writing Prize in Religion

The Dickinson Senior Writing Prize is awarded during the senior year by vote of the Religion Department faculty to that senior or seniors who have produced the best writing project as a culminating experience in the major or in a senior year seminar course.

Previous award winners

Established: June 2014

The Hans Penner Prize

The Hans Penner Prize is given to a graduating major in the Department of Religion whose work demonstrates dexterity in theoretical and methodological approaches to the study of religion.

Previous award winners

Established: May 1985

The Religion Department Faculty Award

The Department of Religion funds a monetary prize to be awarded to a graduating senior who has done outstanding work throughout his or her career as a Religion major, as determined by the Religion Department faculty.

Previous award winners

Established: June 2020

The Sperry Writing Prize in Religion

This prize for outstanding writing will be awarded on an annual basis for the best essay, body of essays, or research paper written for any course offered in any term by the Department of Religion. Up to three prizes per year will be awarded with the amount to be determined annually. Preference for this prize will be given to students who are not graduating seniors in the year under consideration.

Previous award winners